top of page
Search

An International Student Experience

In recent years, Canada has had an increasing Iranian population from migrants moving from Iran away from the current political, social, and economic tensions.



Below an international student shares their experience after moving from Iran to Canada for their future:


When was it you moved to Canada from Iran?


I lived in Canada for 2-3 years as a kid for some time in pre-kindergarten and then in 3rd grade. I then moved back to university in 2018.


May I ask why your family decided to move to Canada and then back when you were in 3rd grade?


So my grandparents were experiencing a lot of problems with their chronic illnesses. My grandma got diagnosed with breast cancer, my other grandmother with end-stage liver cancer and my grandfather had a stroke. My mom’s an only child and my dad’s an only son so they had to go back to be their parents and take care of them.

It was a very difficult time and they ended up losing their PR status in Canada because in my opinion, the judge wasn’t compassionate and empathetic enough to understand their problems. He also made very odd and hostile remarks throughout the whole process.

I truly believe my parents experienced a lot of racism in the whole process too.


Have you or your parents experienced any racism whilst being in Canada recently?


No thankfully not recently. I think growing up as an immigrant and as someone who is not visibly “white” you face a lot of issues including racism.


Do you have any family back in Iran now?


Yes, I have my parents, aunts, grandmother and 3 cousins.


What is your experience as an international student in a predominantly white country? - Both with a sense of belonging and sensing racism?


“Being an international student means that I feel like I don't fully fit in with Iranians here or with Canadians. This also leads to limited social support from other students who share similar cultural backgrounds & experiences, which can be isolating and challenging.”


My experience as an international student in a predominantly white country has had both ups/advantages and downs/disadvantages. Some advantages include being able to attend a very prestigious university like the University of British Columbia (because degree conversions are difficult and costly) and being exposed to different cultures in Canada. My experiences have helped me further develop a sense of cultural awareness and the ability to communicate and work with people from this side of the planet.

Previously I attended international schools so I already had those skills but the environment here (predominantly white like you're saying) is unique. Some disadvantages have been the cultural adjustment - adapting to a new culture can be difficult, especially in a multicultural country like Canada where people tend to be in social groups with people from their own culture/country. Being an international student means that I feel like I don't fully fit in with Iranians here or with Canadians. This also leads to limited social support from other students who share similar cultural backgrounds & experiences, which can be isolating and challenging.


“It has allowed me to become more mature and capable of handling all sorts of responsibilities.”

Fortunately, I have just become a Canadian citizen so financially it has been a lot easier as compared to a fully "international" student.

This meant that I had to put myself out there more often as compared to the average white Canadian who has grown up here, but I believe that is a huge asset because it has allowed me to become more mature and capable of handling all sorts of responsibilities.

This range of responsibilities has been quite WIDE. For example, within my first year of arrival after flying alone, I had to secure an apartment, figure out my healthcare & healthcare provider, get a phone plan, figure out my banking, apply for residence cards, etc.


Congratulations on the Canadian citizenship, how has that affected your sense of identity as an international student?


I don’t really feel any difference - I still feel like an international student hahaha.


It sounds like the growth you’ve endured because of your hardship has been beneficial, would you have any advice to give to other international students who are in similar positions to yourself?


“As international students, we bring that diverse/international background and expertise with us and that is such an asset both in higher education and later on in a career.”


Yea for sure, I think the first piece of advice is that this too will pass. Just keeping that in mind when you’re having a lot of challenges and uncertainties about the future can help. I think another big one is being comfortable with feeling uncomfortable and also embracing your own individualities, and areas of uniqueness and as international students, we bring that diverse/international background and expertise with us and that is such an asset both in higher education and later on in a career.


That’s great thank you so much for your time! One final question if you don’t mind, do you find you spend your time primarily with other international students?


Yea I’d say I hang out mostly with other international students, but I do have a close Canadian friend too.


I know I said one last question, but how is the international community at your university if you don't mind me asking?


Not at all, the international community is huge but it’s multicultural vs being intercultural. So everyone is in their group of other people from the same country/ethnicity. Which is quiet ironic sounding but all of the international students I talk to here also say the same.


End of Interview.


Due to its high-quality education system and favourable immigration policies, Canada welcomes a steadily increasing number of international students, with over 640,000 in 2019 (Canadian Bureau for International Education, 2019). These students come from across the globe with the largest numbers from China, India, South Korea and France.


Although international students in Canada face challenges such as high tuition fees and language barriers, they also have access to various resources and support systems to help them succeed in their academic and personal lives.


As an international student in a foreign country, you may be able to relate to some of the statements above. If you are facing any struggle, you are not alone and there are people to support you at your university and surrounding community.


Re-defined is an international organisation which aims to help international and national students’ network, self-advocate and work on themselves for their future. They hold networking events, community drives and workshops to encourage students and young people to connect. The CEO, Ritika Saraswat, also leads talks online and in person to promote more ways to develop yourself.


If in Canada (Vancouver, Toronto and Halifax), get involved in person by following Re-defined on LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/re-defined11/


To find out more about getting involved with Re-Defined, check out their Linktree: https://linktr.ee/redefined11

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page